23
Dec
09

Interview with Will Kimbrough – Part 4 of 4


This is the final installment of my interview with Will Kimbrough. We talked about what Will likes to listen to when he’s not busy. Since he’s one of the hardest working, in-demand musicians in Nashville; and a loving and devoted husband and father, it’s hard to believe that he has any free time.
His new album Wings will hit the streets on February 23rd. It’s a wonderful, beautifully produced collection of songs that I know you’ll all enjoy. Trust me.
Here’s Will’s words about Wings:
“It’s about having a home, leaving the old home, finding meaning in little things, giving thanks, wondering, sinning, being forgiven, keeping an open mind, loving, living in the moment; or it’s at least thinking about those things.”
 So, between now and then, here’s what you can do: Call your local radio stations that play OKOM and tell them to get an advance copy and start playing it; Go to your favorite OKOM music venues and tell them about Will, and how outstanding his live shows are (because they are), and that they need to book him; Go to your favorite Indie record shop and ask them to order this album for you! It’s OK to be a pain-in-the-ass! These things don’t happen by themselves. He’s not Lady Gaga. You’ve got to go out, make it happen, and help support OKOM artists!
Alright, I’m down from my soapbox. I hope that you’ve enjoyed the interview so far, and that you’ll enjoy this part. Happy Christmas and peace to everyone!

Part 4

OKOM: So, what kind of music do you listen to at home or when you’re on the road?

WK: Well, I’ve been listening to The Beatles mono box set stuff.

OKOM: Oh, the mono stuff. I’ve been buying the re-mastered stereo stuff. How does the mono sound?

WK: It sounds great. The reason I wanted to hear it was because I heard a little radio show about it, and they interviewed a guy that had been the writer that was following the whole process of when they re-mastered all The Beatles stuff. He said that one of the things that had kind of been forgotten in the stereo world that we live in is that; through the White Album – when The Beatles mixed their albums – they first and foremost mixed them in mono.

OKOM: Really?

WK: Yeah, because AM radio was mono. The stereo mixes were usually done without Lennon or McCartney there, and sometimes without George Martin there. That doesn’t mean that they’re not good, it just means that when you hear the mono stuff, it’s interesting to hear what John and Paul – and I presume George and Ringo – intended when they originally did it. For the technology of the day, they were like; well, stereo is great but no one has a stereo so lets do this in mono.

OKOM: I remember the first LPs that I bought back then; they were all in mono.

WK: Yeah, so you’ve heard them. I came around when all the versions were in stereo. So, I’ve been listening to that, and it is different because it’s… well, it’s mono. It’s also what happens when you put everything through one channel. Some of the things on Sgt. Pepper’s [Lonely Hearts Club Band]; there’s this extra sort of phasing, flanging sound that’s on “Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds” that’s really more psychedelic, more spacey sounding than before. There’s a double track vocal that’s flanged, and it becomes more extreme in mono. So, it’s cool to hear that and think, “Oh, that’s what John Lennon was hearing in his head.”

OKOM: So those kinds of things got lost in the stereo mixes.

WK: They just got changed. It’s a whole different thing.

OKOM: I’ll have to check them out.

WK: It’s interesting to hear. I’ve been listening to a borrowed copy because… well… they’re expensive. [laughs] But, it sure is good. So, that’s lately because they just came out. We’re all such Beatles fans.

OKOM: Yeah. Hey, I read that you were getting into African music too.

WK: I love African music. The thing that’s got me in the last few years is Jamaican music from the 60s and the 70s, mostly Reggae, classic Reggae – The Heptones, The Gladiators, The Mighty Diamonds, Gregory Isaacs, and Delroy Wilson – stuff that was a hit in Jamaica. I’ve also been listening to R&B from the 60s, a lot of old music really. There’s a lot of cool stuff to be found out there. I haven’t been listening to too much new music. I’m trying to think of something that I’ve got. Oh, I got the new Mark Knopfler record [Get Lucky] because I like to hear what he does.

OKOM: I haven’t gotten the new one yet. I have the previous one [Kill to Get Crimson] and I love it. How’s the new one?

WK: It’s good! I know some of the guys in his band too. So I love listening to it and I can just picture those guys playing.

OKOM: That’s cool. Well, we’re coming down to the end of the year. I’m sure that you’re going to be very busy promoting and touring for the new album. It comes out February 23rd.

WK: Yeah. I’m excited about it, and I’m really pleased with it. I’m looking ahead to going out and playing this music for people. Now I’m already working on putting together the next album. It’s a nice life.

OKOM: That’s great. Alright man, thanks much for the interview. I wish you the best of luck with this album. I love it. It has a very cool sound to it.

WK: Thank you.

OKOM: You have a Happy Christmas, and say hi to Jess.

WK: I will, you too, and don’t be a stranger.

3 Responses to “Interview with Will Kimbrough – Part 4 of 4”


  1. December 27, 2009 at 8:07 am

    The series of four interviews was great Blake. Will is growing into such a fantastic entertainer. I’m seeing him at a little venue in Atlanta, Eddie’s Attic, the first part of next month. Great way to start the musical year, and even though I’ve been lucky enough to meet the man, your interview gives me a lot of background in understanding Will more.

    Thanks… and I wish OKOM a “Happy New Year.”

    Jackson

  2. 2 Derek
    December 29, 2009 at 8:42 pm

    Yeah, for sure Blake, nicely done. Thanks for the effort.
    Derek

  3. January 7, 2010 at 8:07 pm

    WOW!!!! Blake, THANK YOU SO MUCH for that interview. Very Cool. Will IS AN ALIEN!!!! and a great artist, in many senses of the words. It’s a great honor to know him, and consider him a friend. Really loved the interview and waiting patiently for the CD..
    Norm Kayser


Leave a Reply

“Our Kind Of Music” Calendar

December 2009
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Enter your email address in the box below to subscribe to "Our Kind Of Music" and receive notifications of new posts by email. (You will receive a conformation email). Then click the - Subscribe to "OKOM" - button

Join 30 other followers


